The Sky Is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson

The Sky Is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson

Published by Dial Books on March 9th 2010
Purchased copy from Fully Booked

Seventeen-year-old Lennie Walker, bookworm and band geek, plays second clarinet and spends her time tucked safely and happily in the shadow of her fiery older sister, Bailey. But when Bailey dies abruptly, Lennie is catapulted to center stage of her own life - and, despite her nonexistent history with boys, suddenly finds herself struggling to balance two. Toby was Bailey's boyfriend; his grief mirrors Lennie's own.

Joe is the new boy in town, a transplant from Paris whose nearly magical grin is matched only by his musical talent. For Lennie, they're the sun and the moon; one boy takes her out of her sorrow, the other comforts her in it. But just like their celestial counterparts, they can't collide without the whole wide world exploding.

This remarkable debut is perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen, Deb Caletti, and Francesca Lia Block. Just as much a celebration of love as it is a portrait of loss, Lennie's struggle to sort her own melody out of the noise around her is always honest, often hilarious, and ultimately unforgettable.

Review:

“I think if we don’t stop kissing, the world is going to explode.”

“Let’s let the whole fucking world explode.”

The Sky Is Everywhere is a beautiful novel about loss and love. Lennie Walker’s sister, Bailey, had just died. Lennie feels like she might as well die too. No one understands how much she misses her sister. Not her Grams, her uncle, Big, or her best friend, Sarah. Only Toby, a boy with surfer flop golden hair and freckles who happens to be Bailey’s boyfriend, knows what it’s like. Soon, the grief Lennie and Toby share brings them together in ways even they cannot understand.

While Lennie’s relationship with Toby dwells in Bailey’s death, Lennie’s relationship with the new gorgeous boy shipped from Paris, Joe Fontaine, makes her forget about her loss. (How can you not forget everything when Joe bats his eyelashes at you?) Joe is a musical genius and is in Orchestra with Lennie. Joe, from the start, was obviously interested in Lennie. He wants to play together with her but Lennie refuses. But due to Joe’s persistence (If Joe coming to Lennie’s house everyday isn’t persistent enough, I don’t know what is), Lennie finds herself unable to pull away from him. I found it adorable that Joe not only charmed Lennie, but Lennie’s grandma and uncle too.

Joe and Lennie’s friendship blooms into sweet young love. But Lennie’s continuous association with Toby, her pains about the absence of her mom and sister complicate things.

Oh God, how do I even begin to explain the things I felt when I was reading this book? First, Lennie’s feelings about her loss. It was so immense, you feel it so much. It’s all over the book. It’s in Lennie’s thoughts, feelings, emotions, words, and poems. Especially her poems. Lennie’s poems are written freehandedly, just random words strung together and conversations recounted. Even so, their expressionism’s amazing. I think the poems and how they exist in the story make the book really unique.

The next feeling is, as much as it makes me sound cliche and anticlimactic, falling in love. I sound so cheeseballs but omg how can you not fall in love with Joe Fontaine? I mean he’s so freaking fantastic and just so alive. And it’s not even because he’s a sex god from France, although that is a major strong point. Joe is also so determined, so dorky, so cute, so sweet and omg I will stop before I write down the infinite-list-of-why-Joe-is-marvelous. Really, he should just hurry up and become real already.

So yes, I might be biased because of Joe, but really , this book is great. It captures perfectly the feelings of a teenager who’s been overcome by sadness. Moreover, it gives you hope that maybe in the stretching ocean of depression, you might find someone who’ll make you happy again.

Did you enjoy reading this post?

Subscribe now to receive fabulous freebies and get the latest bookish reviews and features straight into your inbox.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

11 thoughts on “The Sky Is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson

  1. Heard so many good feedback regarding this book. And is that the cover you got? Looks really pretty. :)
    Great Review!

    Kyle @ selkiereadsstories.blogspot.com

    Posted on July 10, 2013 at 9:47 pm
    1. You should really read it! Yep, it’s the cover I got! I like it so much better than the other cover. And thank you, that means a lot to me! :)

      Posted on July 10, 2013 at 10:13 pm
  2. Wonderful review. I like the sound of the story. Thanks for bringing it to my attention :)

    Posted on July 10, 2013 at 11:11 pm
    1. Thank you! I hope you read it soon! :D

      Posted on July 11, 2013 at 12:29 am
  3. Awesome review, Hazel! I’ve been meaning to pick up this book for MONTHS, but I always put it back on the shelf for another book >_< With your mention of that French sex god, though… *runs to the bookstore*

    Posted on July 11, 2013 at 9:35 pm
  4. Judging by the cover — oh, don’t judge me — it looks like an amazing story. I bought one; I got intrigued by the review. Especially, that it “broke [Tahereh’s] heart” according to her and was “stitched back together with guitar strings.”

    But, to tell you honestly? It’s the sexiness of the cover. Really. Really. Yes, really. But I really do hope this book goes as how good I would expect it to be.

    :’)

    Posted on December 12, 2013 at 9:06 am
  5. I read this book a couple of months ago and really fell in love with it too! I agree so much with your review! And of course how can you not fall in love with Joe Fontaine :p

    Posted on December 15, 2013 at 4:37 am
  6. Great review. I thought this was a good contemporary book to read. ;)

    Posted on January 28, 2014 at 6:02 pm
  7. Heard a lot of good things about this book!! JOE’S SURNAME THOUGH.. *HAWT*
    I’ve been dying to have a printed copy of this book I swear. the book’s usually out of stock every time i visit the nearest bookstore in my place huhu. I have the ebook though..but when I find book cover amazing i always feel like i should have a printed copy of it and read it there lol
    Your review made me want to go to fullybooked and steal a copy lmao kidding. Very nice review!!! Can’t wait to have a copy and read it. God Bless!!

    Posted on March 28, 2014 at 2:13 pm
  8. I love your review, this book was actually one of my all time favorite YA books, my addiction to YA lit started with this book. I can’t wait to read the new release from Jandy Nelson, such a great author.:)

    Posted on January 8, 2015 at 8:04 am