rules for stealing stars corey ann haydu

Rules for Stealing Stars by Corey Ann Haydu

Published by Katherine Tegen Books on September 29th 2015
ARC from Publisher
Purchase on AmazonThe Book Depository

In the tradition of Sharon Creech and Wendy Mass, Corey Ann Haydu's sparkling middle grade debut is a sister story with a twist of magic, a swirl of darkness, and a whole lot of hope.

Silly is used to feeling left out. Her three older sisters think she's too little for most things—especially when it comes to dealing with their mother's unpredictable moods and outbursts. This summer, Silly feels more alone than ever when her sisters keep whispering and sneaking away to their rooms together, returning with signs that something mysterious is afoot: sporting sunburned cheeks smudged with glitter and gold hair that looks like tinsel.

When Silly is brought into her sisters' world, the truth is more exciting than she ever imagined. The sisters have discovered a magical place that gives them what they truly need: an escape from the complications of their home life. But there are dark truths there, too. Silly hopes the magic will be the secret to saving their family, but she's soon forced to wonder if it could tear them apart.

Review:

Corey Ann Haydu left me completely, utterly, absolutely impressed with her Middle Grade debut and wanting to read more of the genre. Having read her other works in the YA category before, I knew she usually wrote realistic honest stories. What I didn’t expect was how raw Rules for Stealing Stars was compared to most MG books that I’ve read, which tend to be on the fun and happy side.

With the way it moved me, I couldn’t help but love this one! It’s a five star read for me and I’ve got five reasons to match every star. 

Sisters

Priscilla, or Silly as everyone calls her, is the youngest of four sisters. The eldest being the twins, Astrid and Eleanor, and the middle being Marla. Often disregarded as ‘too young and innocent’, she is left out by them. When they finally allow her into their world, they find a magical haven where they can escape their problems.

It may be because I have a sister myself but I just adore sister stories so much! I loved how each sister in the Rules for Stealing Stars all were distinctive not only with their personalities but they way they were trying to get by. The ties between them were so genuinely portrayed too, especially the complicated parts.

“‘I shouldn’t be lonely when I have three sisters,’ I say, like feelings and families are simple scientific facts. Cause and effect.”

Parent Issues

With a mother whose moods almost always range from mean to angry especially after a drink and a father who likes to pretend that everything is a-ok and works too much, it’s obvious why Silly and sisters so badly wanted to escape the confines of their home.

Corey Ann Haydu doesn’t hold back painting the dark situation of a family in pieces. The sad introspective tone of her writing fit the story perfectly.

Magical Realism

I honestly think it’s best to read for yourself the magic in this book but here’s what you should know: there are magical closets. Sounds awesome right? Not always. Sometimes magic is good, sometimes magic is bad.

I found the fantastical element of the book really unique and loved how it was incorporated in the plot. The fairytale-like story-telling will surely resonate to children and teens and adults alike.

“I stole a star. Borrowed a star. Because when you are sad, you need a little help, sometimes, getting happy again.”

Coping

Pancakes and closets and stars unfortunately cannot make the hard parts of life go away. It’s up to us to face them head on, to accept that things are bad but to hold on to the hope that things will be better.

But coping with everything and getting to that point where you’re trying to move forward- it’s not easy. Rules for Stealing Stars made me realize that and I only hope that it can open the eyes of kids to this reality.

Tears

I cried. For Silly. For her sisters. For the tough situations they’ve been dealt with. For the abundance of hope they found regardless.

Rules for Stealing Stars wowed me like no other MG book has. It was so beautiful and sad and magical. No doubt my favourite by Corey Ann Haydu so far!

Have you read anything by Corey Ann Haydu yet? What are some of your favourite middle grade books?

hazel signature

Did you enjoy reading this post?

Subscribe now to receive fabulous freebies and get the latest bookish reviews and features straight into your inbox.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

16 thoughts on “Rules for Stealing Stars by Corey Ann Haydu

  1. Oh, I loved RULES FOR STEALING STARS! It’s one of the most honest books I’ve ever read, and I fell head over heels in love with the magical tale that Corey wrote. The characters were incredible, the story was intense and I just loved every minute of it. So glad you did as well!

    Posted on October 15, 2015 at 1:17 pm
    1. I’m very happy to hear that, Alexa! I agree so much!

      Posted on October 16, 2015 at 4:10 am
  2. Wow this sounds SO good!! I’ve been into all this awesome MG that has been coming out. I definitely want to read this because you make it sound so perfect. Also I love sister stories too! I don’t have any siblings, so I really like to read about ones that have a great relationship (to see what I’ve been missing out on). But IDK about her name being Silly. I’m not a big fan of the weird names (like Belly in Jenny Han’s Summer series) . Great review!!

    Posted on October 15, 2015 at 3:24 pm
    1. I’m glad you think so, Michelle! I love how so many good MGs are releasing lately! I think this one is actually one of those perfectly imperfect books- realistic flawed characters and situations and all that. Oh and I actually super adore Silly’s name. Hope you get to check this out!

      Posted on October 16, 2015 at 4:14 am
  3. Omg I want this so so badly. It sounds absolutely INCREDIBLE and that title…magic, sisters. :’) Omg. Need. I have several sisters (erm, only 4 of them haha) so I do like sister books too because I can always manage to connect to one of the sisters. But if this has pancakes and star thievery then I AM IN.

    Posted on October 15, 2015 at 4:52 pm
    1. Have I convinced you to read this one? *fist pumps* And yesss, you do NEED!

      Posted on October 16, 2015 at 4:16 am
  4. Oh my, what a great review, Hazel! I haven’t heard of this book – or the author itself – before but damn, the cover is extremely pretty and I just fell in love with it, wow. The blurb sounds amazing and everything you wrote made me want to read it too! I’ll definitely check it out! :D

    Posted on October 16, 2015 at 8:39 am
    1. Thank you, Yvonne! I’m just happy I put this book and this author on your radar! Corey is a fab writer and I love spreading the word about her books- especially this one since it’s my new fave. <3

      Posted on October 16, 2015 at 9:22 am
  5. This one sounds so fantastic, thanks for bringing my attention to it. I love magical realism and I LOVEEE sisterly love, so this book sounds like the perfect mix of genres for me.

    Posted on October 17, 2015 at 4:20 am
    1. Right? Glad that I was able to put it on your radar! Magical realism + sister stories are awesome!

      Posted on October 26, 2015 at 5:26 am
  6. Good review. I like the way you broke it down. The cover is pretty and it sounds like a great middle grade book. :)

    Posted on October 18, 2015 at 2:08 pm
    1. Thank you, Cali! I wanted to try something new with my reviews so I thought about breaking this one down into its awesome elements. It’s really a great MG read!

      Posted on October 26, 2015 at 5:28 am
  7. THIS SOUNDS AWESOME. And I love middle grade books. Plus, they always seem to have much better titles than YA books. Like Cait up there, I also have several sisters so I really enjoy sister books :)

    Posted on October 18, 2015 at 6:47 pm
    1. I agree! MG books have such fun titles. I’m thinking about reviewing them more often on the blog. Hope you get to read this, Emily!

      Posted on October 26, 2015 at 5:31 am
  8. I’ve never heard of this book, but it sounds AMAZING. I love magical realism and books about families, especially sister relationships. I’m headed to the library today, so I’ll have to see if this one is available. Thanks for the amazing review!

    BTW: I lived on Mindanao for a year. The Philippines is SO beautiful — you’re lucky to live there :)

    Posted on October 23, 2015 at 12:03 pm
    1. I hope you found a copy, Susan! I really loved this one so much and want to see more people read it.

      So cool you lived in the Philippines for awhile! I live in the metro, where the scenery is all busy city, but I do like living here- we have some pretty great bookstores and book events. :)

      Posted on October 26, 2015 at 5:36 am