Wish of the Wicked by Danielle Paige

Wish of the Wicked by Danielle Paige

Wish of the Wicked by Danielle Paige

Published by Bloomsbury USA on November 7, 2023

480 pages
Purchase on Amazon


Bestselling author Danielle Paige puts a dark spin on fairy godmothers in a new YA series for fans of Brigid Kemmerer and Maleficent.

For centuries, the enchanted members of the Entente have worked in tandem with the Three Fates—the Present, the Past, and the Future—to maintain destiny across the Thirteen Queendoms. But when Queen Magrit learns of her untimely demise from Hecate, Fate of the Future, Magrit burns Hecate at the stake and decrees death to all Entente in order to live forever.

But some survive, including sixteen-year-old Farrow, who hatches a dangerous plan to seek revenge. Along the way, she finds herself falling for the one person who could ruin everything. With life and love hanging in the balance, she must decide who to trust and what’s most important: living in the past or forging a new future.

I’m excited to be part of the book tour for Wish of the Wicked by Danielle Paige, who is also the New York Times bestselling author of Stealing Snow and its prequel novellas Before the Snow and Queen Rising. She also wrote the Dorothy Must Die series, Mera: Tidebreaker, and The Ravens, co-written with Kass Morgan. Before turning to young adult literature, she worked in the television industry, where she received a Writers Guild of America Award and was nominated for several Daytime Emmys. She is a graduate of Columbia University and currently lives in New York City.

Farrow & the Fates

The main protagonist, Farrow, is one of the magical Entente who handle the fate of the Thirteen Queendoms. But her kind is accused of trying to use dark magic to usurp the throne and she is the only one who seems to have survived the hostilities. Farrow then becomes a Shadow to get close to the prince and his murderous queen-mother.

Past, Present, Future

We know of the Fates from Greek mythology but they are much different here. They are magical and they lead the Entente. Galatea is the Fate of the Past, Iolanta the Fate of the Present and Hecate the Fate of the Future. 

Witches burned at the stake

When Hecate is burned at the pyre by the evil Queen Magrit, Farrow loses everyone and everything she’s ever known, leaving her alone and vindictive towards the crown. There is lots of tension and emotion in the story because of this traumatic event and Farrow’s grief and hardship afterwards is well-portrayed as she does everything in her power to move towards her goal.

Fast-paced Fantasy

Although the story spends some time establishing the past and showing the Entente before their downfall, the plot soon moves along quickly to follow Farrow’s journey to avenge her sisters. There are a lot of characters who are interesting and complex, giving enough conflict to the plot and making the world building feel layered as more seemed to be afoot in the other queendoms.

Saving the Queendoms

After meeting the Prince and Cinderella, Farrow becomes compassionate towards humans, despite their inaction when the Entente were wrongfully executed. She discovers her power to grant others’ wishes but her inability to grant her own wishes, especially as she falls in love, felt heartbreaking. That said, I enjoyed the sisterhood and great character evolutions over the romance. Still, I’m looking forward to how things will go in the next book.

Wish of the Wicked is an enchanting and vengeful retelling of the origins of Cinderella’s fairy godmother. With imaginative twists to the fairytales and mythology we know of, this first book in the newest series from Danielle Paige will have readers engaged and intrigued. 

Follow the Wish of the Wicked Book Tour!

November 1st



November 2nd




November 3rd


November 4th




November 5th



November 6th




November 7th


Stay Bookish

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Are You In?

Get our latest posts right in your inbox and 
stay bookish with us!

Follow Stay Bookish on WordPress.com