Book In My Bag: The Bright Edition

Book In My Bag - The Bright Edition

Being a bag addict, I love having variety in my collection–totes, rucksacks, sling bags. Of course, I also love having bags in different colors. I’m especially fond of this bright red satchel with a tribal print flap. It’s just the perfect size for carrying my current read! Check out the book in my bag!

Book In My Bag - Bright Pink and Red

These are actually old shots from a trip up north last year. It was chilly then, compared to the hot summer I’m experiencing at the moment in Manila, so I was wearing my bright pink pullover. Yes, this post is called The Bright Edition for a reason.

Book In My Bag

Book In My Bag - All The Bright Places

Theodore Finch is fascinated by death, and he constantly thinks of ways he might kill himself. But each time, something good, no matter how small, stops him.
 
Violet Markey lives for the future, counting the days until graduation, when she can escape her Indiana town and her aching grief in the wake of her sister’s recent death.
 
When Finch and Violet meet on the ledge of the bell tower at school, it’s unclear who saves whom. And when they pair up on a project to discover the “natural wonders” of their state, both Finch and Violet make more important discoveries: It’s only with Violet that Finch can be himself—a weird, funny, live-out-loud guy who’s not such a freak after all. And it’s only with Finch that Violet can forget to count away the days and start living them. But as Violet’s world grows, Finch’s begins to shrink.
 
This is an intense, gripping novel perfect for fans of Jay Asher, Rainbow Rowell, John Green, Gayle Forman, and Jenny Downham from a talented new voice in YA, Jennifer Niven.

The book in my bag right now is All The Bright Places, which I’m reading just in time for Jennifer Niven’s signing tomorrow! Her book tour in the Philippines already started today and tomorrow she’ll be stopping by my city. I’m really enjoying her prose so far (halfway through the book already) so I’m definitely excited to meet her soon.

What Else Is In My Bag?

Bright neon post-its ・ iPhone ・ iPad ・ Wallet ・ Sunglasses ・ Pen

That’s pretty much it. I don’t keep a lot of things in my bag and I don’t have any essentials, except for my phone and wallet. And a book to read of course. I’m hoping to finish All The Bright Places tonight so I can discuss it with friends at tomorrow’s event. If you’ll be attending too, let me know!

Your turn! What book is in your bag right now?

Posted in

Hazel @ Stay Bookish

Hazel Ureta is an advocate of stories. She is the blogger and Editor-In-Chief of Stay Bookish because she loves talking about books. She enjoys reading Young Adult novels the most and writes them too.

Did you enjoy reading this post?

Subscribe now to receive fabulous freebies and get the latest bookish reviews and features straight into your inbox.

8 Comments

  1. Cait @ Paper Fury on May 28, 2016 at 5:48 pm

    Ohh your bag is PRETTY. I love the tribal patterns too. Eeeeep! (And I ADORE All the Bright Places even though Im’ still a mess after reading it and it’s been over a year *sobs* BUT STILL SO SO SO GOOD.) Yay for keeping your bag simple too! hehe. Simple is the best way to be. That’s totally me too.😂

  2. Karen Blue on May 28, 2016 at 9:45 pm

    Pooh! I love that bag! I carry a bag to work which I use for all my personal stuff. That bag is in addition to my nursing stuff and my laptop bag for work. I wish I jadbaboretty bag like that to use instead.
    I have heard such great things about All the Bright Places, but I haven’t read it. I got her newest book at BEA this year and I can’t wait to read it!

  3. Karen Blue on May 28, 2016 at 9:53 pm

    Omg! All the typos in that comment. Sorry, that’s what I get for trying to comment from my new phone. Great post anyways!

  4. Kyra Morris on May 29, 2016 at 5:05 am

    What a gorgeous bag! I love satchels and I’m on the lookout for a new one as mine is breaking. :(
    I generally have a book in my bag, a water bottle, lip glosses (I LOVE lip gloss), my phone and earphones! :D

  5. Inge on May 29, 2016 at 6:28 am

    That bag is STUNNING! I carry around a very small black handbag which actually holds quite a lot, but is just not big enough to bring a book. I’ll always have my phone, lip balm, some meds (just in case), an anxiety bracelet, and my ID card with me.

  6. Shannelle on May 29, 2016 at 9:27 am

    I have, like, one shoulder bag and books don’t fit in it at all. And that just leaves my backpack. It’s not cute at all. XD

  7. Tracey @PrintedWordsAnd on May 29, 2016 at 9:48 am

    Oo, I love this. I’m a huge snoop hahah, I watch so many What’s In My Bag videos and I love that you’ve made it book related. I wasn’t a huge fan of All The Bright Places, but hope you enjoy it more. Also love that you bring post it notes around !!

    Such a cute idea! (is it okay if I steal it?)

    • Tracey @PrintedWordsAnd on May 29, 2016 at 9:50 am

      P.S I just realised this is a series you have on your blog, full credit to you if I do do it on my blog!!

Leave a Comment