maybe someday - novel portraits

Maybe Someday by Colleen Hoover + Giveaway

Maybe Someday by Colleen Hoover

Published by Atria Books on March 18th 2014
Purchased copy from Fully Booked
Purchase on AmazonThe Book Depository

At twenty-two years old, Sydney is enjoying a great life: She’s in college, working a steady job, in love with her wonderful boyfriend, Hunter, and rooming with her best friend, Tori. But everything changes when she discovers that Hunter is cheating on her—and she’s forced to decide what her next move should be.

Soon, Sydney finds herself captivated by her mysterious and attractive neighbor, Ridge. She can't take her eyes off him or stop listening to the passionate way he plays his guitar every evening out on his balcony. And there’s something about Sydney that Ridge can’t ignore, either.

A passionate tale of friendship, betrayal, and romance, Maybe Someday will immerse readers in Sydney’s tumultuous world from the very first page.

Review:

Here’s the thing: I’m a huge fan of Colleen Hoover- a tremendously HUGE fan. I’m in love with everything she writes and I’d basically buy anything she puts her name on. Colleen is high on my favorite author list and I’ve adored every single one of her books, especially this latest one, Maybe Someday.

Saying I was excited to read Maybe Someday would be quite the understatement. I basically counted down the days until it was released and no one would ever understand how ecstatic I was when I found out it had been already available at my local bookstore. I was not only thrilled that it was a Colleen Hoover book, but also that it had aspects I was interested in, like music and romance. The book focuses respectively on Sydney and Ridge, the female and male lead, who both have their own POVs. Their story is one of a kind- it’s incredibly heartbreaking, but most of all, beautifully told.

Sometimes in life, we need a few bad days in order to keep the good ones in perspective.

The novel starts with Sydney, who just turned twenty-two and was having the suckiest day of her life. Betrayed by her best friend and boyfriend, Sydney was angry, depressed, and was left with nowhere to go. From the very first line of the book, I knew Sydney was going to be a very readable character for me. If there was one thing I loved about her the most, it was that she kept things real. Her dialogues with the people around her were fun, her internal conflicts were so relatable and honest and she was a really good heroine in general.

In the midst of the disaster that is her life, Sydney finds a friend in her enigmatic musician neighbor, Ridge, and convinces herself that she’s only crushing on his guitar talents. I’m not even sure how to begin describing Ridge. He took me completely by surprise. I did not expect him to be how he is (those who’ve read will understand what I mean!) but I loved that Colleen Hoover made her male lead different from the rest and also so completely layered. I loved reading about Ridge’s disposition when it came to music- it was so interesting to look at things through his perspective. Aside from that, I loved his personality in general, how he is passionate and caring and also how he loves pranks!

I’ve learned that the heart can’t be told when and who and how it should love. The heart does whatever the hell it wants to do. The only thing we can control is whether we give our lives and our minds the chance to catch up to our hearts.

Ridge has been having a block when it came to writing lyrics so he collaborates with Sydney, who is utterly passionate about songs and music. The two grow attracted to each other but they establish a deeper connection more than just a physical one. However, Ridge has Maggie, his girlfriend, and that meant he and Sydney couldn’t and shouldn’t act on their feelings. I love that Maggie was not viewed as an antagonist of the story even though she was the reason Sydney and Ridge couldn’t be together and all. She was actually really wonderful and nice and you can see why Ridge loves her very much. Ridge’s best friend, Warren, was also a great minor character! I came to adore him during the entirety of the book, not only because he was pretty hilarious, but also because he was so frank and honest.

If I may be honest as well, I found Maybe Someday to be very conflicting- but in a really good “ahh omg feeeeels” kind of way! After all, the story revolves around a relationship that is wrong in the context of the situation but nonetheless feels so right, which I must say is totally confusing and frustrating, not just for the characters, but also for the reader (in this case: me), whose emotions become one with Ridge and Sydney’s. With Colleen Hoover’s expert writing, she manages to show us that there is more to these kinds of circumstances. It’s not about what’s right or wrong, it’s about the feelings that are there and about what the main characters choose to do about it. I loved how the two were both so mature, how they really tried so hard to fight their hearts and it tore me apart, seeing them struggle with their feelings so much.

People don’t get to choose who they fall in love with. They only get to choose who they stay in love with.

Not only was this book heart wrenching, it was also fascinating, what with the aspect of music and lyrics bringing Sydney and Ridge together. If there’s one thing that gets me as emotional as books do, it’s music. I have to say: my favorite part of this whole novel would be the lyrics. Every word was just so perfect for every scene, every emotion, and I just loved it beyond everything else. A gorgeous soundtrack accompanies Maybe Someday and it contains the songs Sydney and Ridge wrote for and about each other. Listening to the soundtrack album while reading the respective scenes was the best thing ever! I’ve never had such an unforgettable reading experience until this one!

All in all, I really loved Maybe Someday. It was poignant and thought provoking, not to mention a breath of fresh air compared to most of the books in this genre. Maybe Someday may be Colleen’s most complicated book yet but it’s also her most profound book so far. Sure to impress its readers, Maybe Someday brims with heart and hope.

Rating:

five

Giveaway:
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Did you enjoy reading this post?

Subscribe now to receive fabulous freebies and get the latest bookish reviews and features straight into your inbox.

Leave a Reply

58 thoughts on “Maybe Someday by Colleen Hoover + Giveaway

  1. Weeee I super love music-related novels. Where the guy finally finds a muse and makes music inspired by her. Too excited for this!
    Maybe someday I may find my own musician haha <3

    Posted on March 14, 2014 at 10:23 pm
  2. This book is in dual POV!!! I don’t think I’ve read that from a non-spoilery review I’ve read before or maybe I just forgot. Haha. You said Ridge took you by surprise, and that makes me more excited to meet him (if that’s even possible!) And I didn’t know Ridge had a girlfriend! Uh oh, so that’s one thing that’s keeping them from being together… I hope to read this very soon. I must get the soundtrack too!!

    Posted on March 14, 2014 at 11:09 pm
  3. I read the synopsis and I fell in love coz music!!! UGH! MY FEELS!!!! And I’m starting to obsess over Colleen Hoover!!! I dunno, I’m not much of a romantic but I guess everything happens for a reason! HAHAHAHA! I JUST! I… There are no feelings!

    Maybe Someday I can meet Hazel of Stay Bookish for reals and Maybe Someday I can nerdfight with Colleen Hoover…HAHAHA!

    Posted on March 14, 2014 at 11:13 pm
  4. I understand how you feel in this review, I felt exactly the same way. I was in torment the whole time when they kept trying to push their way out. I loved that Ridge was so different from the usual male leads, I thought it wouldn’t work out…but it’s Colleen we’re talking about and she is amazing. I hate contemps yet she made me love them and I also don’t like music much LOL Great review! I also recently reviewed this. :)

    Chyna recently posted: Review: Triton by Dan Rix
    Posted on March 14, 2014 at 11:39 pm
  5. I love the fact that Maybe Someday is in dual pov. I can’t wait to read this. Maybe someday I’ll have my very own copy of this book.

    Posted on March 15, 2014 at 12:12 am
  6. I want this so bad and you know it, Haze! :( I am expecting this time. Haha. Kidding. Good job on your new review of Maybe Someday. ^^

    Eliah Gem recently posted: The Monica Bird
    Posted on March 15, 2014 at 4:58 am
  7. There’s been so much hype about this book, and I’m honestly intrigued about it. Also I haven’t read a Colleen Hoover book, so maybe this is the right time?
    Maybe someday I’ll finally have the courage to go skydiving :D

    Posted on March 15, 2014 at 7:29 am
  8. One of Colleen Hoover’s huge fans as well. I absolutely loved this book. I’m gonna read it again, just to see if there are differences. But even it hasn’t, her books are always worth re-reading. And like you I’m quite conflicted. The only downside for me was the ending. I have different idea on how it should end (well, that’s just me) but regardless it was still awesome.

    Gaaah, need to hear the OST asap! Lovely review, Hazel. :3

    Mitchii @ The Aeropapers recently posted: Bookish Verbosity: How personal is your book blog?
    Posted on March 15, 2014 at 10:26 am
  9. This book sounds fun, thanks for the giveaway!
    Missie @ A Flurry of Ponderings

    Missie recently posted: Review of Waking the Dead
    Posted on March 15, 2014 at 10:34 am
  10. I love Colleen Hoover’s books! I absolutely love how this book has a soundtrack and from what I’ve heard from it, it sounds amazing!!! Maybe Someday I’ll meet Colleen Hoover and Griffin Peterson ((:

    Posted on March 15, 2014 at 1:53 pm
  11. I haven’t read any of Colleen Hoover’s books so I can’t wait to read this one, I’ve heard and read great things about it :)

    Maybe someday… I’ll fall in love again :( I was hurt really bad in the past and I just can’t open up and be that vulnerable all over again… U_U

    Posted on March 15, 2014 at 6:44 pm
  12. I’m excited about Someday Maybe because I am a huge Coleen Hoover Fan! :)
    Maybe someday.. I’ll see the aurora borealis.
    Thank you for the international giveaway :)

    Posted on March 15, 2014 at 7:26 pm
  13. What I’m most excited about this is the track that comes with it! A new variety for books; so original.

    Maybe someday I’ll get Maybe Someday.
    THANKS FOR THE GIVEAWAY! :)

    Posted on March 15, 2014 at 7:37 pm
  14. Because the book sounds interesting
    Maybe someday I’ll travel around the world

    Posted on March 15, 2014 at 8:20 pm
  15. I am so excited for this book. I have absolutely loved Colleen Hoover’s other series. I can’t get my hands on this book soon enough!

    Posted on March 15, 2014 at 8:56 pm
  16. I haven’t read any Colleen Hoover Novel but I have heard a lot about her books. Actually a lot of her books are already on my tbr pile and I just need to wait til the semester’s over for me to start drowning in a million books again. :D

    Posted on March 16, 2014 at 12:52 am
  17. I see how you’ve been raving about this book on Twitter, needless to say, now I’m curious! I loved her book Hopeless, and any story that includes music as a big part of it is surely not to be missed!
    Nice review, Hazel :)

    Tirta @ I Prefer Reading recently posted: BBI's 2014 GIVEAWAY HOP: Cover Guessing Game!
    Posted on March 16, 2014 at 2:54 am
  18. I’m really really excited for this one just because it’s written by Colleen Hoover! That woman could never go wrong in any of her books. Can’t wait to join the bandwagon for this book! :)

    Maybe Someday…I’ll get lucky and win these Rafflecopter Giveaways! :D

    Posted on March 16, 2014 at 6:47 am
  19. I’m really excited about it because I’ve been waiting for it and dude, it was written by Colleen Hoover! I mean, it’s Colleen Hoover, who wouldn’t want that? Haha.

    Maybe Someday… I’m gonna be a successful blogger and a well-known author.
    Nice review, Hazel! Thanks for this super awesome giveaway! :D

    Posted on March 16, 2014 at 7:22 am
  20. As an actress / singer myself, I’m a huge fan of novels that revolve around music so I’m SO GLAD to hear that this one lived up to your expectations Hazel! I’m a HUGE fan of Colleen Hoover as well – her books always have such great romance and characterization – so I can’t wait to get my hands on a copy of Maybe Someday! Sydney and Ridge sound like such complicated, complex, realistic characters and I can’t wait to read about them for myself!

    Thanks so much for sharing Hazel, and, as always, brilliant review! xD

    Zoe @ The Infinite To-Read Shelf recently posted: Maybe One Day
    Posted on March 16, 2014 at 9:24 am
  21. I actually haven’t read Colleen Hoover yet, but I want to see what’s the hype for her all about. So I’m just being such a user and trying this giveaway out. :D

    And maybe someday, I might actually find a guy who’s decent and I’ll conveniently like the same time as he likes me. Moving on to senior high school has me thinking about relationships. :P

    Shannelle recently posted: Book Review: Scarlet
    Posted on March 17, 2014 at 5:03 am
  22. I would love to have a copy of this book too! *_* <3

    Posted on March 17, 2014 at 5:04 am
  23. Honestly, it’s because it was written by COLLEEN HOOVER. I became an instant fan when I read Slammed and I added her on my auto-read author after Point of Retreat. I would read anything from her.

    Hmm..not maybe, but someday, I’ll meet the man that God has given me and we’ll live happy forever. :)

    Michelle Sedeño recently posted: ARC Review: Ask Again Later by Liz Czukas
    Posted on March 17, 2014 at 5:37 am
  24. I never actually read any novels by Colleen Hover yet, but I’m quite curious ’cause I’ve been hearing about her a lot. And I love music, so I guess this will be on my tbr list.

    Posted on March 18, 2014 at 9:20 am
  25. Any books by Colleen Hoover is welcome to my shelf.
    She is an amazing author who never let you put down the book once you started.

    Posted on March 18, 2014 at 7:48 pm
    1. Maybe Someday, I’ll get a signature freebies from her, or if I’m lucky, a signed book!
      Being a booklover,bookworm and a fan of her, this is something I really want…

      Posted on March 18, 2014 at 7:51 pm
  26. The thing I’m most excited about is knowing Ridge and his passion for music. I’m a sucker for novels that involves music and a character’s passion towards it is what usually drives me to love the book, among other things.

    Now that you’ve mentioned that he has a girlfriend (!!!), I wonder how will they work around that one, since you’ve mentioned that Maggie wasn’t an antagonist and was actually nice.

    Maybe someday, someone will write a song for me. Ha. :))

    Charlie recently posted: Review: Such a Pretty Girl
    Posted on March 19, 2014 at 11:40 pm
  27. I loved the Slammed series by Colleen Hoover that’s why I am excited for this one too! Thanks for the giveaway! :D

    Posted on March 20, 2014 at 7:33 am
    1. Aaaaan Maybe Someday, I’ll be able to read this book Maybe Someday too :)

      Posted on March 20, 2014 at 7:42 am
  28. I love your reviews. I didn’t read this one though, but I promise to read it after I read the book. :)) I don’t want to see anything about this until I read it. XD but I’m glad you gave it the full rating. :D

    Maybe someday I would be able to own a house full of books. :P

    Posted on March 21, 2014 at 7:00 am
  29. I can’t wait to get this book (but currently on a book ban sooo…)

    It sounds like a classic Hoover book and I am dying to read it – thank you for hosting the give away!! :DD

    Sabrina recently posted: Book Review: Matched by Ally Condie
    Posted on March 21, 2014 at 8:36 am
  30. I can’t wait to read this book! Colleen Hoover is such an amazing author and she keeps coming out with more and more amazing books!

    Harman @ Little Bookworm Reviews

    Posted on March 21, 2014 at 8:57 am
  31. I’ve heard so many great things about Colleen’s books, but have never had the chance to read one! The romance just seems amazing. Maybe someday I’ll get the chance to read one of her books. :)

    Posted on March 23, 2014 at 1:00 am
  32. I’ve heard amazing things about this from almost every book blogger! Maybe omeday I’ll get a tattoo! It’s sth I’ve been thinking a lot about lately!

    Nadia @ Nadia Reads recently posted: Nadia Reads Slowly
    Posted on March 24, 2014 at 6:08 am
  33. I’m a huge Colleen Hoover fan and I’ve read all of her books and Maybe Someday didn’t disappoint me. Yes, I’ve read it already.. and it’s my current best read this year. The plot was new.. the characters are incredible and the music! I badly want to own a Maybe Someday album but I don’t know where to get one and it’s a bit pricey for a student like me :-(

    Maybe someday I get to buy all the books I want! :-)

    Anjeli Demagante recently posted: Breaking Dawn 2
    Posted on March 24, 2014 at 11:10 am
  34. I really want to star reading new adult and this one sounds perfect to begin and break into the genre. Maybe someday I will stop being so nervous around people.

    Posted on March 25, 2014 at 2:25 pm
  35. Maybe someday I’ll write a novel. :D

    Posted on March 25, 2014 at 11:53 pm
  36. Maybe Someday is actually the first book of Colleen Hoover book that I’ve read!! I enjoyed it a lot and can’t wait to read Colleen’s other books :)yey for summer lol
    “Maybe Someday I’ll have a happy ending like Sydney” :) Thanks for the chance!

    Posted on March 28, 2014 at 1:56 pm
  37. I’m excited about this book because I’ve read so many good reviews about it and I really can’t wait to read it!
    Maybe someday I will be able to travel to all the places I want to visit, like Italy (again), Australia…! Thanks for the giveaway! :)

    Posted on March 28, 2014 at 7:48 pm
  38. I haven’t read anything by this author yet, but I do want too! I love a good contemporary.

    Andd…Maybe Someday I will publish a book of my own!

    ShootingStarsMag recently posted: The Undertaking of Lily Chen by Danica Novgorodoff
    Posted on March 31, 2014 at 11:11 pm
  39. Maybe someday I’ll be able to captivate readers just like Colleen Hoover and her masterpiece, Maybe Someday, if ever I’ll be making a novel. :)

    Posted on March 31, 2014 at 11:27 pm
  40. I read this book without any idea about the story. I liked it, hinestly, i liked the way Colleen Hoover added a twist to the story, with the deaf thingy.

    Maybe someday, I can write a novel toooooo :(((( :)

    Posted on April 1, 2014 at 3:17 am
  41. I loooove anything CoHo. Maybe Someday is in my TBR. Hoping to win this. Thanks for the giveaway.

    Posted on April 1, 2014 at 4:30 pm
  42. I love this book, its a must read.
    Maybe someday, i can meet Colleen Hoover

    Posted on April 2, 2014 at 5:15 am
  43. I love Colleen Hoover and have heard such great things about the book. Thanks for the opportunity!

    Posted on April 2, 2014 at 11:52 am
  44. I’m excited because I love all of Colleen Hoover’s work and can’t wait to read another amazing story of hers!!
    And Maybe someday I’ll be able to write as well as she does :)

    Posted on April 2, 2014 at 9:17 pm
  45. Slammed series by Colleen Hoover is the best romance series I’ve read and I know Maybe Someday will be as great as Slammed, so yeah that’s the reason I’m excited :)
    Maybe someday i’ll be a good writer :)

    Posted on April 3, 2014 at 12:43 am
  46. Colleen Hoover!! <3 I'm so excited for the book! :)

    Posted on April 4, 2014 at 11:07 pm
  47. Maybe someday I’ll finally win a giveaway lol I’m so excited for this book ❤

    Posted on April 6, 2014 at 11:21 pm
  48. I’m very excited for Maybe Someday because it’s written by Colleen Hoover! Need I Say More? :3
    Maybe someday I’ll be able to own a copy too of Colleen Hoover’s books. :)

    Posted on April 8, 2014 at 7:33 pm
  49. Maybe someday I would finally publish my own novel. This has been my dream ever since and I hope soon I’d ind some time to really focus on this dream/goal.

    Posted on April 10, 2014 at 11:39 am
  50. I’m excited for this because I love Colleen Hoover!!!!

    MAYBE SOMEDAY I’ll meet her. :)

    Rachel @ My Book Empire recently posted: Review: Bruised by Sarah Skilton
    Posted on April 11, 2014 at 10:06 am
  51. This review of yours is what pushed me to read Maybe Someday, actually. And goddamn I had been reduced to a huge mess of emotions once I was done. This book is one of the rare gems you encounter when reading. It’s remarkable and refreshing and overall just unique. You’re right, I’ve yet to come upon a book whose storyline is like this one. And I won’t say this book is perfect but it leaves you warm and cold at the same time. You feel about every emotion, honestly. Haha! But really, thank you for this review. It’s what pushed me to finally read a book that has fast made its way into my heart (cheesy) and will stay there in the comfort of Ridge’s text messages! Hahaha :)

    Posted on April 11, 2014 at 10:18 am
  52. This is one of the best books ever. I mean it. Actually it was just recommended by a friend and I never really thought it was that good . Very inspiring! Hands down to Colleen Hoover! :) <3

    Posted on April 29, 2014 at 2:00 am
  53. Well, to be honest I did enjoy the beginning of Ridge and Sydney’s blossoming romance but as I reached the middle part, the story felt draggy though I managed to finish the whole book. Also, I’m not really into the idea that a person can love two people at the same time so maybe it’s one of the reasons that this book didn’t really satisfy me. Anyway, I enjoyed some moments in this book though I didn’t like how it ended. :)

    Posted on May 19, 2014 at 9:19 am
  54. I LOVE Colleen Hoover and as much as i loved this book there were so many heartbreaking moments i just couldn’t handle the feels D:

    Posted on June 12, 2014 at 8:33 pm
  55. oh oh, I have always been looking forward to reading this book!!

    Maryam Dinzly recently posted: BOOKS, GUISE. JUST BOOKS.
    Posted on March 10, 2015 at 2:29 am
  56. oh oh, I so love this book so much! :)

    Posted on March 10, 2015 at 2:30 am