The Beginning of Everything by Robyn Schneider

The Beginning of Everything by Robyn Schneider

The Beginning of Everything by Robyn Schneider

Published by Katherine Tegen Books on August 27th 2013
Purchased copy from Fully Booked
Purchase on AmazonThe Book Depository

Golden boy Ezra Faulkner believes everyone has a tragedy waiting for them—a single encounter after which everything that really matters will happen.

His particular tragedy waited until he was primed to lose it all: in one spectacular night, a reckless driver shatters Ezra’s knee, his athletic career, and his social life.

No longer a front-runner for Homecoming King, Ezra finds himself at the table of misfits, where he encounters new girl Cassidy Thorpe.

Cassidy is unlike anyone Ezra’s ever met, achingly effortless, fiercely intelligent, and determined to bring Ezra along on her endless adventures.

But as Ezra dives into his new studies, new friendships, and new love, he learns that some people, like books, are easy to misread. And now he must consider: if one’s singular tragedy has already hit and everything after it has mattered quite a bit, what happens when more misfortune strikes?

Review:

The Beginning Of Everything, also known as Severed Heads And Broken Hearts, is an amazing book- a beautifully written prose that will sure take your breath away. With great narration and an excellent voice, it tells a story of personal tragedies and aftermaths.

When I contemplate on why I loved this book so much, all arrows point to Ezra Faulkner. Ezra was your quintessential golden boy- played a sport, had a trophy girlfriend, was admired and loved by everyone. He was living the life of a high school king until catastrophe strikes, leaving him to walk the hall of shame with a crippled knee and a stupid cane. As he struggles through his senior year, he rediscovers himself, along with old and new friendships. Ezra was realistic in the way that he (like majority of teenagers) searched constantly for a sense of belonging. Suddenly a misfit, he no longer knew who he was, unable to comprehend who he wanted to be. I loved that we see his vulnerabilities and I thought that it was told in such an honest-to-God manner. And it doesn’t hurt that Ezra was also sharp and full of wit. In fact, that’s another reason in the long list of why Ezra Faulkner is awesome.

“There’s a word for it,” she told me, “in French, for when you have a lingering impression of something having passed by. Sillage. I always think of it when a firework explodes and lights up the smoke from the ones before it.”
“That’s a terrible word,” I teased. “It’s like an excuse for holding onto the past.”
“Well, I think it’s beautiful. A word for remembering small moments destined to be lost.”

Cassidy, the enigmatic new girl, had our protagonist completely enamored. Radiating riddles, intelligence and shrewd skepticism, she was a puzzle for Ezra. That wasn’t the case for me, as I managed to figure her out. Still, as she and Ezra fall in love, we see how much they fit. Their romance was sweet and I found myself wishing for more. But alas, this wasn’t a love story but a story of finding out what living truly means. Another important component of this book was friendship. I really really enjoyed Ezra’s budding camaraderie with the ‘nerds’. Their banter and ‘extra-curricular activities’ were extremely amusing. The pop culture references and puns- those were a joy to read. Toby, who was Ezra’s best friend way back and the one who brings him into their group, was wonderful, magnificent and all kinds of marvelous. First of all, he’s a fantastic friend, accepting Ezra with open arms and making him feel right at home with his group of friends. Second, he’s honest, frank and straight forward. He tells things the way he see them and he doesn’t hold back, calling Ezra a crappy friend when he’s being one. Third, he is ultimately funny and just… you cannot help but love him.

“I still think that everyone’s life, no matter how unremarkable, has a singular tragic encounter after which everything that really matters will happen. That moment is the catalyst- the first step in the equation. But knowing the first step will get you nowhere- it’s what comes after that determines the result.”

I do think that the characters in the story were a large part of the reason why I was smitten by this book. Even Ezra’s dog was fun to read about! Seriously. Aside from the characters though, the inspiring message that The Beginning of Everything really pulled heartstrings. It leaves you thinking, pondering, and reflecting about your own life- and those, I think, are the best kind of books. The Beginning of Everything had me in awe and I deeply admire Robyn Schneider for coming up with such a profound novel that will surely appeal to young hearts.

Rating:
four point five
Posted in

Hazel @ Stay Bookish

Hazel Ureta is an advocate of stories. She is the blogger and Editor-In-Chief of Stay Bookish because she loves talking about books. She enjoys reading Young Adult novels the most and writes them too.

Did you enjoy reading this post?

Subscribe now to receive fabulous freebies and get the latest bookish reviews and features straight into your inbox.

16 Comments

  1. Kyle Magistrado on October 14, 2013 at 2:17 pm

    Very insightful review, Hazel. Now I MUST really read this book. :)

  2. Evie on October 14, 2013 at 10:01 pm

    OK, I need to read this, like, NOW. What a beautiful and thoughtful review! You totally made me want to drop everything else and just read this book ASAP! I am probably going to have a wait a bit *stares at the review pile in fear*, but I’ll be adding it to my contemporary fiction month line-up for sure! thanks so much for getting me all excited!

  3. Jen @ Pop! Goes The Reader on October 14, 2013 at 11:59 pm

    I’m so happy to hear that you enjoyed this one, Hazel, as I currently have a copy sitting unread on my own to-be-read bookshelf and it’s always nice to have a better idea of what to expect :) I like the fact that the characters seem to be the author’s primary focus as character development has always been of utmost importance to me. Based on what I’ve heard of this novel thus far, I do worry that Cassidy is a bit of a Manic Pixie Dream Girl, but I do think this can work depending upon the context of the story in question. I guess I’ll have to wait and see!

    This was such a lovely review, Hazel, and an absolute pleasure to read :)

  4. Brittany @ The Book Addict's Guide on October 15, 2013 at 1:11 am

    I’m so glad you loved this one! Wasn’t it just so beautiful! Those little situations… the music involved. It all just made me sigh, in a good way haha. Lovely thoughts!! I’m SO glad you enjoyed it!

  5. Cee on October 16, 2013 at 12:56 pm

    Beautiful review! I really liked The Beginning of Everything. I hadn’t initially when I first read it, but it grew on me.

    Ezra Faulkner was totally unreal. WHERE IS HE? I WANT HIM (AND TOBY) IN MY LIFE. Ezra had obvious flaws – being a crappy friend and always trying to be somebody that people expected him to be – but he was real. At first, I disliked Cassidy because I didn’t know her, but that’s the point. We’re seeing everything that happened through Ezra’s eyes. It’s his story of truly living as his own person, so of course, we don’t go in-depth with Cassidy’s character.

    I was in love with his friends because they were all sooo witty. I wish all my friends can banter like that, but of course, all a select few can match theses characters’ wit. Toby is everything you want in a friend – funny, honest, loyal – and no matter what Ezra did, Toby forgave him. Ahhhh, SUCH A GOOD FRIEND.

  6. Een L. on October 20, 2013 at 7:53 am

    Hi Hazel, great review! I love the details and the insights. I haven’t read this book yet, but your review was screaming “Go read it!” So I will, soon. :-)

  7. Fatma Shahin on December 13, 2013 at 10:58 pm

    Love this book and Robyn Schneider’s cleverness! :D

  8. Allen Grace on December 21, 2013 at 11:33 am

    I love books that will make you reflect on your life, will inspire you to do something unconventional, something that you haven’t done before, like an extraordinary thing. I crave that kind of blissful feeling and surprisingly, that “feeling” I always encounter in YA contempo genre that’s why I’m not giving up YA. What makes me tick off and want to read The Beginning of Everything is that, well, your book review says it all. Hahaha. And if you love the writing, I think, I will love it as much as you do.

  9. Zaira Fernando on December 23, 2013 at 9:56 pm

    Great review! Love reading your insights! I’ve had this book for a couple of days now but I’m kind of scared to read it, seeing as everyone I know who has read it absolutely loved it. I guess I’m just afraid I won’t like it as much. Will check it out soon, though! xx

  10. Don on January 23, 2014 at 5:24 am

    Totally awesome review. Makes me want to rush to the bookstore to buy a copy. Really like the quotes. It seems that it has an amazing story about life. Im kind of not a fan of love or YA romance novel but I was interested in reading the book now that I’ve read your review. :)

  11. Marie Bernadette G. Quilala on February 2, 2014 at 9:45 am

    I saw this book at National Bookstore & (Crossings) on last year’s Warehouse Sale and bam! I grabbed it right away to buy it way before I went upstairs for the sale! Haha, definitely a must-read. The Synopsis itself, upon reading it at the back of the book made me do so :>

  12. Schen on February 14, 2014 at 3:42 am

    I like your review, Hazel! Glad you liked it, too!
    This book is also one of my favorites. It is actually relate-able, but quite heart-wrenching.
    I also liked the characters (including Cooper). It felt like a happy-sad ride.

  13. Pilar on February 20, 2014 at 10:30 am

    I really liked this book. Original beginning and very lovable characters but reals. I’m a sucker for “and the lived happily ever after” so I wanted five more pages where they encounter and fell in love again. But I guess the open ending lets everybody have the ending they want.
    Its a shame the printed version is not available in my country. I would love to have it in my bookshelf!!

  14. Anjelie Mendoza on April 10, 2014 at 11:45 am

    I am still at the early pages of this novel, but you had me at “pop culture references.” Now I can’t wait to finish this. Another on to add to my pseudo-Nick Hornby obsession!

  15. wennalyn on January 16, 2015 at 6:11 am

    I have read this book a year go and probably this is my favorite book ever!!!!! This book and I were pretty meant to be :)) and that was really good review! wow

  16. Princess Marie Aquino on February 17, 2015 at 9:49 am

    I am absolutely in love with Ezra Faulkner, I mean – who can’t?! The plot is unique and greatly unexpected.

Leave a Comment