I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson

jandy nelson ill give you the sun

I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson

I'll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson

Published by Dial Books on September 16th 2014
Purchased copy from Fully Booked
Purchase on AmazonThe Book Depository

A brilliant, luminous story of first love, family, loss, and betrayal for fans of John Green, David Levithan, and Rainbow Rowell

Jude and her twin brother, Noah, are incredibly close. At thirteen, isolated Noah draws constantly and is falling in love with the charismatic boy next door, while daredevil Jude cliff-dives and wears red-red lipstick and does the talking for both of them. But three years later, Jude and Noah are barely speaking. Something has happened to wreck the twins in different and dramatic ways . . . until Jude meets a cocky, broken, beautiful boy, as well as someone else—an even more unpredictable new force in her life. The early years are Noah's story to tell. The later years are Jude's. What the twins don't realize is that they each have only half the story, and if they could just find their way back to one another, they’d have a chance to remake their world.

This radiant novel from the acclaimed, award-winning author of The Sky Is Everywhere will leave you breathless and teary and laughing—often all at once.

Review:

I have never known a book as fucking beautiful as this one. Yes, I’ve loved many other books and thought them beautiful too but I’ll Give You The Sun is on a whole other level. It made me rethink what beautiful truly meant and I realized that this book gives definition to the word.

“When people fall in love, they burst into flames.”

Truly, I had high expectations for Jandy Nelson’s sophomore novel from the start for many reasons- because I loved The Sky Is Everywhere so very much, because I heard so many amazing things, because winning this year’s Printz and a Stonewall honour is a momentous achievement. But when I dove into the book, everything else just faded away. I was engulfed by the heart-wrenching story that was Jude and Noah’s.

“Or maybe a person is just made up of a lot of people,” I say. “Maybe we’re accumulating these new selves all the time.” Hauling them in as we make choices, good and bad, as we screw up, step up, lose our minds, find our minds, fall apart, fall in love, as we grieve, grow, retreat from the world, dive into the world, as we make things, as we break things.

Having a sibling myself, I loved how such relationships were a reoccurring thread in Jandy Nelson’s books and was astounded by how she painted in words the bond Jude and Noah had as twins. Clark Gable, reading their narratives often felt like my heart was being minced into very tiny pieces. The two main characters were weighed down by heartache- their melancholy escaped from the pages and brought many many tears to this reader’s eyes. They weren’t just their woe though- both Jude and Noah were quirky, funny, artistic and extraordinary. I’d go into the whys and hows but it’s really hard to explain because Jude and Noah were both such intricate and complex characters. Still, they were profoundly realistic and I couldn’t help but let myself be moved by them.

“I gave up practically the whole world for you,” I tell him, walking through the front door of my own love story. “The sun, stars, ocean, trees, everything, I gave it all up for you.”

Even the supporting characters broke my heart and left me sobbing more often than not. The way everyone’s lives were somehow tangled utterly convinced me that there was such a thing as fate and destiny. Speaking of, I just need to declare my adoration for the romance in the book. I would’ve loved I’ll Give You The Sun as much without it but I’m so ecstatic that it was because I absolutely fell in love. Oscar and Jude are definitely an OTP to be reckoned with just as Joe and Lennie was.

“Meeting your soul mate is like walking into a house you’ve been in before – you will recognize the furniture, the pictures on the wall,the books on the shelves, the contents of drawers: You could find your way around in the dark if you had to.”

The writing and storytelling- it’s pure poetry. It’s art. I don’t think any other writer would have thought to have alternating point of views from alternating timelines and actually made it work but Jandy Nelson totally did. Also, she was able to interweave such important matters in the book- grief, sexual identity, a coming-of-age kind of growth in the characters, family, sadness, joy, life- and Jandy did it brilliantly. I daresay that I’ll Give You The Sun proved her writing genius.

I close my eyes and drown in color, open them and drown in light because billions and billions of buckets of light are being emptied on our heads from above.

This is it. This is freaking everything. This is the painting painting itself.

I’ll Give You The Sun is phenomenal, soulful and completely breath-taking. Seriously, this deserves all the stars and the sun and much much more. I’ll be recommending I’ll Give You The Sun till the end of time.

About Hazel @ Stay Bookish

Hazel Ureta is an advocate of stories. She is the blogger and Editor-In-Chief of Stay Bookish because she loves talking about books. She enjoys reading Young Adult novels the most and writes them too.

Posted in

Hazel @ Stay Bookish

Hazel Ureta is an advocate of stories. She is the blogger and Editor-In-Chief of Stay Bookish because she loves talking about books. She enjoys reading Young Adult novels the most and writes them too.

Did you enjoy reading this post?

Subscribe now to receive fabulous freebies and get the latest bookish reviews and features straight into your inbox.

16 Comments

  1. Lis @ The Reader Lines on March 9, 2015 at 1:04 pm

    I still haven’t read this book but I feel like I already adore it.
    I love Jandy Nelson’s writing and I can’t wait to read this one.
    Great review!

  2. Danielle on March 9, 2015 at 2:28 pm

    Hazel! This is such a gorgeous review, it made me quite emotional to read it! I bought this on audiobook just this morning and I am aching to start it!!

  3. Ana @ Butterflies of the Imagination on March 9, 2015 at 3:03 pm

    I’ve read the same thing in so many reviews. Even though I’m not a fan of romance, I’m pretty sure I get drunk on beautiful writing-if that’s possible. I love novels that are novels, and yet seem like they are written in a poetic style that I could soak up forever.

  4. Alexa S. on March 9, 2015 at 4:55 pm

    Ah, Hazel, your review for I’ll Give You the Sun is lovely! You definitely described the novel well, particularly when it comes to how beautifully the story is told, characters are crafted, plot unfolds. It’s just so wonderful, and I’m glad you enjoyed it!

  5. Mawa Mahima on March 9, 2015 at 5:57 pm

    She’s an amazing writer isn’t she? Pulls out all the stops, that one. I can’t wait to get my hands on this…I think I might die of high hopes and green envy if I read another review praising this! :P

  6. Alysia on March 9, 2015 at 7:48 pm

    I am soo beyond happy you enjoyed it!! I can easily say it’s one of my absolute all time favorite books and my heart warms when people fall in love with it too. It’s truly beautiful. Lovely review Hazel!

  7. lea on March 10, 2015 at 1:23 am

    sounds amazing!

  8. Rebecca on March 10, 2015 at 8:44 am

    Your review is gorgeous. Gorgeous review for a gorgeous book? I think so! I haven’t read this yet, but I bought myself a copy with Christmas money and I’m looking forward to reading it soon. I just, think I’m a bit nervous? I LOVED the authors debut and I feel like I’m slowly going to have to work up to it. The brain of a reader is a weird one, huh? ;)

  9. Laila BC on March 10, 2015 at 8:50 am

    THANK YOU! THANK YOU! THANK YOU FOR YOUR AWESOME REVIEW OF THIS BOOK BECAUSE IT DESERVES IT! I WAS SO ELATED IT WON THE PRINTZ AND STONEWALL…GAAAH! I CONGRATULATED THE AUTHOR ON HER FB COZ WE TIGHT! YAY! AHAHAHAHA! I first read her The Sky Is Everywhere which i fell in love with and my bff gifted me a copy for my bday. I creyyyy! LOL!

  10. Lea @ YA Book Queen on March 10, 2015 at 12:25 pm

    I adored Nelson’s debut, so I’m very glad to see so many positive reviews for IGYTS! Your review has me so eager to start it.

    Lovely review!

  11. Shelumiel on March 11, 2015 at 2:20 am

    Aaahh, I cannot wait to read this one! Beautiful review, Hazel!

  12. Sarah @ One Curvy Blogger on March 11, 2015 at 1:58 pm

    I don’t think I’ve come across one bad review of I’ll Give You the Sun! I loved the sibling dynamic of The Walled City and am itching to find another book like it (the sibling dynamic, not the book). Adding this one to my TBR stat! I’m glad this turned out to be beautifully written :D

  13. Chanpreet on March 12, 2015 at 4:29 pm

    I haven’t read anything by her yet, which means I’ve been slacking. I haven’t seen a single *meh* review for this book yet. :p

  14. Mishma @ Chasing Faerytales on March 13, 2015 at 10:33 am

    Beautiful review Hazel!I’ve always thought that this book sounds interesting,and your review just convinced me to give it a chance.I love emotional and beautifully written books,so I think I’ll love this book a lot as well.

  15. Alisa @ Papercuttts on March 21, 2015 at 11:52 pm

    I’m glad I read this super positive review. I know that this book has been getting tons of press, but so has 50 Shades…. if you catch my drift. Anyways, I’ll probably have to read it now!

  16. Printz Award Winner | Sally Wice on April 2, 2015 at 4:37 pm

    […] Noah and Jude constantly feel a mixture of emotions to their family members, a presence of unconditional love is seen throughout the novel. Despite the lies, schemes, and upsets, the family members find relief […]

Leave a Comment