The Sea Of Tranquility by Katja Millay

The Sea of Tranquility by Katja Millay

Published by Atria Books on June 4th 2013
Purchased copy from Fully Booked
Purchase on AmazonThe Book Depository

I live in a world without magic or miracles. A place where there are no clairvoyants or shapeshifters, no angels or superhuman boys to save you. A place where people die and music disintegrates and things suck. I am pressed so hard against the earth by the weight of reality that some days I wonder how I am still able to lift my feet to walk.

Full of rage and without a purpose, former pianist Nastya Kashnikov wants two things: to get through high school without anyone discovering her past and to make the boy who took everything from her pay.

All 17 year-old Josh Bennett wants is to build furniture and be left alone, and everyone allows it because it’s easier to pretend he doesn’t exist. When your name is synonymous with death, everyone tends to give you your space.

Everyone except Nastya, a hot mess of a girl who starts showing up and won’t go away until she’s insinuated herself into every aspect of his life. The more he gets to know her, the more of a mystery she becomes. As their relationship intensifies and the unanswered questions begin to pile up, he starts to wonder if he may ever learn the secrets she’s been hiding or if he even wants to.

The Sea of Tranquility is a slow-building, character-driven romance about a lonely boy, an emotionally fragile girl, and the miracle of second chances.

Review:

There comes a point when you realize how many tragedies occur in the human world. Accidents and catastrophes keep happening. There is always someone dying, crying, suffering. Some of us are living and breathing but are withering inside.

“I am pressed so hard against the earth by the weight of reality that some days I wonder how I am still able to lift my feet to walk.”

This is the case for Nastya, a girl who barely exists, haunted by a horrid past she continues to run away from. Somehow, the only person who seems to understand her is Josh, a boy who is left completely alone in life, each of his family taken from him already. As they become close companions, developing an attraction unlike any other I’ve ever read about, slowly but surely, a bomb full of buried secrets and hurt and pain drops and explodes.

“I don’t want to mess this up. It’s bad enough that my brain is a cesspool; I can’t imagine the hellhole my heart would be if he wasn’t in it.”

The Sea Of Tranquility took my breath away. No, I’m serious. It literally took my breath away. Crying pretty much makes it hard for a person to breath, doesn’t it? And the crying that ensued while and after I read this book? A whole lot doesn’t even cover it!

“I had to leave.” There’s pleading in her voice, begging me to understand something I don’t. “I can’t tell you the truth and I know you want it. I would end up disappointing you, being the thing that’s never enough, just like with everyone else.”
“Leaving is the only thing you could have done to disappoint me.”

Halfway through the book, I was already sure this one was going to have a relatively high rating. I expected to fall truly, madly, deeply in love with it and that’s exactly what happened. Although the story dragged a bit, the narration was excellently done and I saw why there was a need to take things slowly. The way the author unraveled the characters was just beautiful. The writing and the voice used was so powerful and engaging. There’s an art in the way the author weaves her words- everything just really hits you right in the gut. The Sea of Tranquility is so full of heartache and what’s amazing is the rawness of it all.

“Just so you know,” I inform him, “one day, I’m going to get tired of sharing your affection with that coffee table and I’m going to make you choose.”
“Just so you know,” he mimics me, “I would chop that table up and use it for firewood before I would ever choose anything over you.”

Although there were many tears, there were also quite a few laughs, as I was reading this book. Josh and Nastya share delightful, adorable banters and their interaction with supporting characters, specifically Drew, Josh’s bestfriend, was thoroughly enjoyable. I really loved the humor that Drew’s character injected every now and then! All the characters were interesting- they had wit and sarcasm and they keep you on your toes. I especially loved the mysterious air that surrounded Nastya- you’re never entirely sure about her.

“Yes,” I say and it’s as if I’m saying a thousand yeses. Yes, I came back. Yes, I want you to love me. Yes, I will be okay. Maybe not today or tomorrow or next week. But yes, one day, I will be okay. Yes.

What I loved most about The Sea of Tranquility is that it shows you how dark life, secrets, pasts and tragedies could be but it also enlightens you. It leaves you with a promise that things are going to be okay some day, despite how broken and shattered they seem to be. The romance doesn’t take a holier than thou “love conquers all” attitude- it just tells you that no matter how much grief you’ve experienced, you can still love and be loved. The Sea of Tranquility was gorgeous and touching and moving in every way. Its brilliance will never leave my brain or my heart.

Rating:
five

Did you enjoy reading this post?

Subscribe now to receive fabulous freebies and get the latest bookish reviews and features straight into your inbox.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Want to include a link to one of your blog posts below your comment? Enter your URL in the website field, then click the button below to get started.

27 thoughts on “The Sea Of Tranquility by Katja Millay

  1. I love this book. I read it when it was first published and I swear I was screaming at everybody to read it and now it’s getting all the love it deserves! great review!

    Posted on December 8, 2013 at 12:30 pm
  2. This is going straight on my wishlist. I must read it now!! You’ve completely sold me. Amazing review, Hazel! :D :D

    Lucy @ Queen of Contemporary recently posted: Letterbox Love (23)
    Posted on December 8, 2013 at 1:26 pm
  3. Those are some gorgeous quotes you chose there, girl! I love books that can make me feel a wide variety of emotions and this one sounds like it does exactly that. Love the moral too.

    Posted on December 8, 2013 at 10:06 pm
  4. Your review makes me want to read this book right away! Although I should probably have a box of tissues ready. God knows how emotional I get when reading books. :)

    Posted on December 8, 2013 at 11:22 pm
  5. Always love your reviews, Hazel! This one is next on my list! :)

    Posted on December 9, 2013 at 7:42 am
  6. I LOVED this book! It was one of the few I read this year that made me cry. Your review is making me want to re-read it!

    Miranda @ Tempest Books recently posted: The Hunger Games, Catching Fire & Mockingjay {Book Review}
    Posted on December 9, 2013 at 8:14 am
  7. Your review is just perfect! I totally agree about what you said about how this story depicted tragedy, but it can also enlighten and inspire a person. That is what I loved about this book the most. When I finished reading this book, it reminded me of the saying “after a rain/thunder comes a rainbow”. I agree how at times the story was dragged a bit, but whatever. It was still a spectacular book. I’m really glad you loved it!

    Leigh @ Little Book Star recently posted: Review: The Scar Boys by Len Vlahos
    Posted on December 9, 2013 at 7:32 pm
  8. I had the chance to pick this up and I can’t believe I didn’t! I’m ashamed to admit I judged it by the cover…I’m picking it up tomorrow.

    Francoise recently posted: Stacking The Shelves 5/12/13
    Posted on December 10, 2013 at 1:37 am
  9. This has been in my TBR pile for a while now – as in for more than a year o.o Hopefully I’ll pick it out of my TBR jar so I can finally read it lol. Not looking forward to the tears, though :)) Awesome review, Hazel!

    Kazhy recently posted: Mark That Book {1}
    Posted on December 10, 2013 at 6:56 am
  10. Now I must read this book very soon! :)

    Posted on December 10, 2013 at 9:13 pm
  11. I hadn’t heard of this book before, but after reading this review I can’t wait to get my hands on a copy!

    Posted on December 12, 2013 at 11:04 am
  12. I loved and hated the slowness of this book at the same time! It really was frustrating because I really wanted them to be together! Ugh. Thank god the wait was worth it.

    Marie @ The Moody Reader recently posted: Book Review: The DUFF by Kody Keplinger
    Posted on December 15, 2013 at 2:32 am
  13. Great review!!! I’ve heard so much hype about this book, can’t wait to check it out for myself

    Posted on December 20, 2013 at 9:49 pm
  14. Nice choice of quotes, your review made me want to buy this book. I’ve been seeing this book on GR and has been on my TBR pile since then. It seems like an interesting read. :)

    Posted on January 5, 2014 at 8:07 pm
  15. I read this in 2012 and yes, a lots o crying and sobbing and sniffling nonstop happened when I read it! My heart hurts for both Nastya & Josh, but I was glad that the ending turned out okay for them. Glad that you think the book is brilliant! Can’t agree more on that :)

    Posted on January 6, 2014 at 4:38 am
  16. I haven’t read the book yet.. Your review really awesome, I guess I’m going to get the copy after this. I have no idea but this book reminds me of Before I Fall by Lauren Kate, although both of them have a very different theme.

    Posted on January 29, 2014 at 6:47 pm
  17. one of the most moving and surprising read i had the pleasure of reading last year. i didn’t know this one would take me to places that would be leave me in a weepy mess and that ending? gaaaahhhhh! not enough words! thank you for giving this a deserving review :))

    Posted on March 28, 2014 at 1:27 am
  18. I’ve already read this review on goodreads but i love reading it again because 1.) I super mega love TSOT, too. 2.) Your review says all what I felt about the book, I feel you!!!!
    (i hope this is a meaningful comment hehe x)

    Posted on April 28, 2014 at 3:05 am
  19. Hello there, just became aware of your blog through Google, and found that it is truly informative.
    I am going to watch out for brussels. I’ll be grateful if you continue this in future.
    Many people will be benefited from your writing.
    Cheers!

    beer batter recipe recently posted: beer batter recipe
    Posted on September 26, 2014 at 2:37 pm
  20. Have you ever thought about including a little bit more
    than just your articles? I mean, what you say is fundamental and everything.
    Nevertheless think of if you added some great images or video clips to give your posts more,
    “pop”! Your content is excellent but with images and clips, this website could
    certainly be one of the best in its field. Awesome blog!

    beer can chicken in the oven recently posted: beer can chicken in the oven
    Posted on September 26, 2014 at 3:28 pm
  21. Fachowcy, dobra szybka i profesjonalna obsługa
    53b71e7a0ff11926341da9e640457fad

    listów recently posted: listów
    Posted on December 16, 2014 at 12:25 am
  22. Have you ever thought about creating an ebook or guest authoring on other sites?
    I have a blog based upon on the same information you discuss and would love to have you share some stories/information. I know my subscribers
    would appreciate your work. If you’re even remotely interested, feel free to shoot me an email.
    53b71e7a0ff11926341da9e640457fad

    document clearing recently posted: document clearing
    Posted on January 13, 2015 at 8:57 am
  23. I just like the helpful information you supply on yoiur articles.
    I’ll bookmark your blog and test again here regularly. I am moderately ccertain I’ll be informed
    many new stuff proper right here!Best of luck
    ffor the next!
    53b71e7a0ff11926341da9e640457fad

    best gaming laptop under 500 recently posted: best gaming laptop under 500
    Posted on February 10, 2015 at 12:20 pm
  24. This site was… how do I say it? Relevant!!
    Finally I’ve found something which helped me. Thanks!

    Posted on June 14, 2015 at 1:13 pm
  25. topical 5-fluorouracil actinic keratosis red blisters on fingers and toes painful red patch on skin skin rash
    on neck and sore throat chicken skin protein content itchy
    rash between buttocks cheeks home remedies for seborrhoeic keratosis

    Posted on June 16, 2015 at 6:23 am
  26. HORRIBLE UPDATE The sport won’t even open up on my s5 the replace makes me not need to play
    anymore!

    Posted on August 30, 2015 at 7:27 pm
  27. I think what you said was actually very reasonable.
    However, what about this? what if you were to create a awesome headline?
    I am not saying your content is not good., but what if you added a post
    title that grabbed a person’s attention? I mean The Sea Of Tranquility by Katja Millay
    – Stay Bookish is a little boring. You ought to peek at
    Yahoo’s home page and watch how they write news titles to grab people to open the links.
    You might add a video or a pic or two to get readers excited about everything’ve got to
    say. In my opinion, it might make your website a little livelier.

    http://chlodnie.myhost.zone recently posted: http://chlodnie.myhost.zone
    Posted on January 11, 2016 at 4:05 pm